allmydreams's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fuck 'em up, fuck 'em up

here is my bitchfest to the scene (those bastards):

As a former Scene afficionado and an alumna of a "certain private nondenominational all-girls school in West Nashville", I was semi-nauseated at the cheap shot you took at the place I called home for four years of my so-called trite, suburban life. However, instead of adding to the pile of catty replies you will undoubtedly receive, I offer only a few reasons why parents might just want to send their girls to such a school after all:

1. According to the National Center for Education Statistics, Tennessee's public education system rates below the national average in almost every category.

2. The Davidson County public high school system's financial expenditure per pupil is rated D (below average).

3. The Davidson County public high school system dropout rate is 16.3%, and is rated F (deficient).

4. You might want your daughter to actually go to a reputable college and have a successful career later in life, and Davidson County's rate of college-bound seniors is nothing to brag about.

5. You also might want your daughter to realize that not everyone who attends a private school such as Harpeth Hall "entertains aspirations of becoming a model" and is "surrounded by wealth and privilege in her stately Belle Meade home."

I hope you get the criticism you deserve for this somewhat ironic column. While working for the Scene through Harpeth Hall's Winterim program, I always thought my school's reputation was of a positive nature, but perhaps I was wrong. I can only hope that more people have the opportunity to observe the amazing girls and faculty that are my Alma Mater's reality.

Catherine Carroll

Nashville, TN

5:12 pm - 2002-07-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dramamind
yukon
warmwine