allmydreams's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cerebral ramblings

"so, are you one of matt's students?"

haha.

anyway.

a dear friend of mine has informed me that a central belief in my world view posits that i am smarter than most of the people in this world. i would say it's more likely summed up by saying that i find them to be less intelligent than me...not exactly that i find myself to be more intelligent than them. it may seem that those two statements roughly get at the same thing, and of course they do, but i believe that there is a slight distinction between them. perhaps i am oversimplifying it, too...and the way i am phrasing it is probably not exactly right. but basically, it's not that i think i'm some sort of genius...i just think most people are retarded. and luckily, i'm not one of them. well half of the time, anyway.

but the reason i bring this up, is than in reading my fellow nashvillians' diaries, i occasionally remember that i haven't always been this cynical. i spent most of my formative years cursing my family's well-to-do status that forced me into the private education system, but in retrospect, i couldn't be more grateful for any other experience i've had in life. i will probably never relate to my fellow students who sigh painfully when a professor (or, more likely, some goddamn grad student) exclaims, "come on you guys, this isn't high school anymore." instead, i sigh painfully as i remember a time when i felt like most of my peers were in fact much more intelligent than me.

not that it was really fun having nazi-esque french teachers (i won't name names to preserve anonymity heh heh) who made me turn in "un essai" before 8 am every week because, "in college, that's how it is!", but well, at least it made me a better person. or something. but i do laugh out loud when i recall the end of my senior year--mr croker telling our little english class he was sorry because he felt he hadn't prepared us well enough for "the real thing." i watch my 20something creative writing teacher stumble through the abortion metaphors in "hills like white elephants" and smile, knowing that though my brain cells are probably dying, at least i'm smarter than the rest of these dumb fucks.


See what drug you are.

i don't know how accurate that is these days, but i guess it's better than beer (which is what everyone else seems to be getting). and you've got to love the misspelling of "your" in the description.

4:20 pm - 2002-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dramamind
yukon
warmwine