allmydreams's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

put your body back in your clothes

a (not so) brief update:

i am currently sitting in the shitty ass computer lab in my shitty ass apartment complex, recovering from a somewhat grueling workout in our shitty ass "gym"--it consists of a couple elliptical trainers, a couple stationary bikes, a couple rowing machines, a treadmill, and some free weights. but, considering that this was the first time i've stepped foot in it since spring break, it was enough. anyway, the apples in stereo really had me rocking out in there.

i am tired of my body--and not really in the same way that i was complaining about a month ago. on one hand, working out is sort of bad for my self-esteem because it creates this heightened sense of awareness of my body...the same heightened sense of awareness that i am inherently prone to, that i am constantly trying to knock. but on the other hand, when i'm working out regularly, at least i feel like i'm doing something good for my body.

one thing i've noticed about my numerous past attempts at a regular schedule of exercise is that i put all the focus on "getting buff." i honestly don't really care so much about that right now...but i feel like my body is a reflection of my own laziness. my skin, my form--those are not necessarily the things that bother me. but every afternoon i'm tired, and i waste a shitload of time taking naps when i ought to be outside doing something active. anyway, i just think it will make me feel good.

in other news: this weekend was pretty damn fun. on thursday night i boarded the AB bus to greet evan at DIA. yes, i am pathethic and cannot drive on the interstate, but i also kind of wanted to read and i thought the bus would be a good place to do that. i really enjoyed it...at one point i think i was the only english-speaking person on board, and it was sort of interesting hearing all of this chatter around me in spanish and chinese and korean and various other languages. plus, it was fun as hell sitting in the second-to-last row with evan on the way back to boulder :)

speaking of evan (and i suppose i do, often)...on friday, after my classes, we went to denver. we were going to go hang out at laura's parents' house in littleton, but we got in a fight and came back to boulder instead. we were both just making eachother uncomfortable about stupid shit...it's not even worth talking about. anyway, we spent a good part of the evening lounging in my bed and talking about stuff. eventually we went to safeway, came back to my place and made dinner (yay for salad)...but i think we were just really tired too, because we crashed out pretty early.

on saturday morning i started ballet class. it was my first class in about five years, so i didn't really know what to expect--i basically quit in the first place because it was way too intense and i really didn't have the body for it anymore. but this was so different. my teacher is this extremely flamboyant character named rob and the other five girls in my class are around my age and have dance experience as well. there was no "tuck that in" or "stretch that farther" or "bring your leg up higher"...it was just the kind of barre work we did when i was younger, and across the floor stuff. it was really relaxed, but i got a good workout too.

the rest of the day was spent reading, hanging out with evan, and going to a strange-ish get-together where i was ambushed by a man from taiwan and forced to listen to his account of taiwanese history and asian languages. this would have been fine, except i could barely understand anything he was saying...i'm sure he could barely understand me either though heh. evan and i went home pretty early, and after i became immersed in a national poker tournament on tv, we took a walk from my apartment to his house. i'm gonna get this body moving, damnit.

sunday=warped tour. this concert sucked ass, and i have never seen so much bare flesh in public--but it was awesome seeing greg. evan and i left at some point in the afternoon and went into denver, wandered through the tail end of pridefest, napped in the grass, and eventually picked greg back up and ventured down colfax. there is this one area, sort of over by the bluebird theatre, where pretty much establishment is owned by some dude named pete...so we decided to check out pete's greek town--the pinnacle of all places pete and greek on colfax heh. it was awesome.

blah blah blah. evan is getting sick, so i dragged his poor sick body into my bed. getting up this morning was painful. classes were good; i rocked my sex test. reading wide sargasso sea this afternoon was alright. hanging out with dave was nice. my room is still (sort of) clean. i am going to start my new woody allen book tomorrow. i have no more homework to do tonight, so i am going to go over to evan's house...even thought dave says we hang out too much :) i am happy. life is swell.

7:44 pm - 2003-06-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dramamind
yukon
warmwine